A museum trip to London with exhibition plans ahead

After the second visit to Nuneaton, I’ve been gathering my ideas and discussing how I can turn my illustrations into interactives with Matt, the museum’s Outreach Officer – and also working out the layout of the exhibition with Jen, the museum’s Exhibitions Officer, it’s all coming together…here’s some of my early exhibition plans sketches – see if you can recognise if we end up with any of these ideas or not!

Sketch of Jhinuk's Exhibition draft DRAFT plan that could change!

Jhinuk’s Exhibition draft DRAFT plan that could change!

I have been working out some more detail to finalise our exhibition plans with the museum front of house team in my studio in London at Blackhorse Workshop. Together Marion, Heather, Rob, Matt and I worked out what questions visitors might ask them in the lead up to the exhibition.

Image of four people in discussion around Jhinuk's desk covered wit drawings and a laptop showing collection images

Rob, Heather Matt and Marion from the museum team helping me out at my studio desk.

We also talked about how I make my work, what materials I use and how I’m developing my practice for this project ‘Tales of the Tundra’ (a working title for now).

Collage sketch of sewing kit from the Inuit collection in black and white

Collage sketch of sewing kit from the Inuit collection

Sewing Kit from Nuneaton's Inuit Collection

Sewing Kit from Nuneaton’s Inuit Collection

Incomplete collage sketch of Pond Inlet

Incomplete collage sketch of Pond Inlet

Before the team headed off to the British Museum (to explore more collections of Inuit artefacts) they also gave me some food for thought on what to blog about. They gave me extra ideas about what might interest the local people of Nuneaton and more ideas to follow up on more for the next time I visit. Thanks guys! So stay tuned, I may reveal more before I meet the museum team again in November…!

This entry was posted in Collections, Exhibitions, Learning, Tales of The Tundra and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

