Antiques Road Trip drops into the Museum!

The filming crew of BBC 2’s Antiques Road Trip stopped by the Museum today to glimpse at the life and works of George Eliot. Presenter and Antiques Expert Charlie Ross chatted to Museum & Arts Officer Catherine Nisbet about the local writer.

The Museum had the opportunity to show objects from the collection that highlight aspects of Eliot’s life and work. One of the most exciting items being shown is a silk dress that used to belong to the author. This dress is usually kept off display due to its fragile condition, but there is a replica on permanent display in the Museum’s George Eliot Gallery.

We are unsure when the feature will be aired, but watch this space and we shall keep you posted.

 

About janineclarefox

My name is Janine Fox and I am Assistant Museum Officer at Nuneaton Museum & Art Gallery. My role is to care and document the museum collection. Working within a small team means I also help install exhibitions, carry out research for enquiries and assist with larger museum projects. What inspires me? Apart from tea and chocolate, I would say travel, photography, art and anything old with a story to tell! It will come as no surprise that I love my job; I work with objects, ensuring that they are looked after, made available for the public and that their stories are recorded for perpetuity.
This entry was posted in Collections, Local history, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment